Women Submission in the Church… NOT!

Not Buying It

Sorry guys, not buying it! God will judge me. I call BULL on this. Especially the way I have heard it used to subjugate women again and again. I highly recommend any Christian women out there that have struggled with their value to buy The Woman Believer by Daisy Osborn. That is probably one of the most liberating Christian books that I have ever read. This is something I don’t hear discussed in a lot of Christian circles.

I am a woman. I have heard time and again Ephesians 5:22 by male Christians. I told them I wasn’t married to them, and asked them how it was relevant to me. I was told a few times that I had a feminist demon. I swear, the next person that tells me I have a demon; I will start barking at them.

What is really sad, is that due to the political climate at the time; I think that the few comments were actually inspired by love. Not to oppress. That’s how I see it.

Family Structure

If “family structure” becomes the argument, then …

Also in Ephesians 5

Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ…

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her…

Hint: You can still give your life while you are living it.

Each of you must love your wife, as he loves himself…

This is a profound mystery, but I speak concerning Christ and the church…

Bah! Just read Chapter 5 and realize that this was an ancient civilization, and the point of the imagery used was actually describing the Church’s structure.

I Beseech You!

Please read the whole chapter?!  It sounds to me like love, service, submission and sacrifice on both ends. Alrighty then…

Women were never made to be second-class. NO ONE in God’s kingdom is second-class. Galatians 3:28 There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. I have heard the argument that women were made for men; then think of us as precious gifts. Would you beat someone down that was a gift from God?

If the argument is who bit the apple… IMO it was a star fruit… Also, they both did! Period. Both. Enough already! I’m not even going to fight about who is bigger, better, stronger or smarter. Blessed is the peace maker? We are different. Different=Awesome. If everyone was the same, life would be seriously boring. Can’t we stop pointing fingers?

Think about It

Why take credit for something if we have no control over it? Why not our attitude towards others?

Example:

Romans 12:10 be kindly affectionate one to another with brotherly love; in honor preferring one another… 

OR All of the other scriptures about love

They don’t end in unless it’s a woman. Women, please don’t believe anyone that tries to convince you that you were only made to keep laundry clean. Even dogs were made for more than that. I would have to give God a little more credit. After all, He is pretty creative.

Wives Submit to your Husbands

Still not buying it folks. What woman in her right mind would ever get married if it meant second-class status and subjugation? She isn’t a child. Her opinions and choices do not become obsolete without a man’s permission. Women are not property.

You cannot have the women submit scriptures without the men love scriptures either. Please let’s stop. Read the whole chapter. Understand it’s context. Why is the discussion mostly about what the woman is or isn’t allowed to do? This wasn’t about oppression.

The scriptures that speak about wives, or women in the church DO NOT supersede all of the love scriptures. You know the ones where you esteem others more highly than yourself? Where giving is better than receiving? Where love does not seek it’s own? I don’t think that this was meant to be the one free pass to boss someone around or make the “ultimate decisions” for them. It is not a license for manipulation or control over another. THAT ISN’T LOVE.

I just cannot digest that.

Jesus Loves

Jesus stuck up for an adulterous woman. He didn’t condemn her. John 8:7 When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone at her”

Funny, He didn’t even address her in a demeaning manner.

Jesus didn’t force people to serve him. Jesus didn’t beat people into submission.

I say we love and respect each other.

How did all of this become so difficult?

FYI Women: We are just as valuable as the next person!

Leave a Reply

