A Tale of Wisps, Trolls and a Wayfarer

The Great Search

I had packed my things and equipped myself to travel to a far-away land called Reihdeet. I had heard many a vagabond boast of its brilliant, echoing laughter and camaraderie.

I arrived at the clearing before Reihdeet with sweat on my brow and joy in my heart. What a whimsical place this must be! The desire of my heart was to find like-minded wanderers that would share their own magical adventures, and also be in search of the truth.

To my surprise, most of the residents were ethereal beings. This was something quite foreign to me. I didn’t know how to peg them.

New Friends in Foreign Lands

I approached one in the hope of finding a new comrade. He had a valid question about my tribe. See, my tribe has had a history of war and subjugation by many. Currently, several of us enjoy liberation and ownership by no one.  I shared my stories and waited with great excitement to hear his wisdom on the subject. He shared his desire for a deeper understanding of the topic.

Danger!

Unbeknownst to me, there was another creature lurking nearby and observing us. This was an aggressive creature known as a Troll from the tribe of Angriburd. A wise Sage from the tribe of Jedeye had once explained the nature of this creature to me, so it came as little surprise when confronted by him. Trolls possess an innate ability to mask their age or experience level. They thrive on confrontation.

He stomped around my ethereal friend, and demanded an explanation to a perception on the world, that deviated from his own. My wispy friend wanted to look at the subject objectively. The Troll referenced the old days, when my tribe was considered little more than cattle. My new friend did not seek heated discourse, so after he said his peace, he flashed away.  I felt a dark heaviness grip my heart.

Quiver!!!

The Troll from the tribe of Angriburd then redirected his aggression towards me. He reminded me that I was worth nothing more than livestock to him, and accused me of a great offense in his land: Cherie Peking. This crime is punishable by an influx of insults and a clear view of all Troll nostrils that are within range.

I turned, and started my journey back home. The sage from the tribe of Jedeye had advised me that when confronted with trolls, one should never feed them. Since the Troll had already proclaimed my guilt, I knew that I couldn’t offer an elaboration of my opinion without provoking a war. I took the Sage’s advice. I didn’t know what else to do. I didn’t journey here to fight with this creature. As I walked away, I heard him yelling and snorting in the distance.

Insightful Recap

When I had referenced my great book earlier to my new friend, I had told him what page and chapter I was speaking of. The great book was not titled great for nothing. My intention was to bring clarity to my interpretation.

I had found that my action had provoked the Troll into a dangerous state of rage, that is also known as nird.  I am almost positive that in his tribe, if you reference a book; you must be certain to sit everyone down immediately and read the whole thing from start to finish. If you don’t, you run the risk of being tried for the great crime of Cherie Peking. I have also heard that this law applies, regardless of the book’s size or the point that you are trying to make.

I would like to think that the Trolls could sit down on their own time, and read any chapter of any book that they wished. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case.

Walking Away

Small cramps in my legs reminded me that I wasn’t quite home yet. I had to smile to myself and be grateful that the troll didn’t ask for directions, forcing me to narrate our entire world map in order to maintain peace.

Leave a Reply

