Extreme Grace

True Story.

I found a video on YouTube that touched my heart. It inspired me to crawl out from under my rock. The song is beautiful, Grace by Michael W. Smith. 

Alas, now I wax all spiritual and stuff.

In my personal experience there isn’t a twelve step, 21st Century, American Gospel out there that can change a life. The love and goodness of Jesus Christ is what caught me.

I don’t qualify for that 12 step to Christ gospel anyways…

Not pretty, virgin, or submissive enough

Made too many stupid mistakes for one lifetime… still bumping into walls too

Hurt too many people because of fear

Missed too many opportunities

Don’t wear the proper department store clothing

Wrong personality

Dreamer & too artsy fartsy

I don’t fit the mold

My big fat pirate mouth

 

 

I am disqualified by religious standards.

Still not perfect… Never will be

I don’t feel I can ever reach up to the expectations of others. Maybe that is the wrong goal.

 

 

Thankfully though, God doesn’t disqualify me for reasons that people would. In fact, He so loved me that Jesus died for me when he knew exactly what He was getting into.  Jesus didn’t take it back. He didn’t sacrifice everything and call it a mistake. When He gave His life for us, He meant it. I don’t have to be Bob, Jane, or Sister Susie Christian to live and learn and grow in Him. 

 

God doesn’t disqualify me because of my gender or personality. He doesn’t trash me because of my social class or religious position. In fact, even when I feel the people closest to me may think I don’t quite make the mark; I know God wants me to press in and get up and try again. He will not give up on me. He started a work that He intends to preform.

God is better than any earthly father.

He never leaves us.

If you search for Him, you will find Him.

Dare Him to meet you where you are. He is already there.

He is no respecter of persons.

Thankfully He doesn’t put us in a box because of:

Social Class

Education

Gender

Nationality

Experience

Appearance

Religious Position

I jest about religion, but I love Jesus Christ with all of my heart. I can never forget what He has done for my life. Sometimes I feel like we lose sight of what is important. I feel like we have good intentions at times, but pick the wrong battles. Sometimes I feel like we might put others down, and almost compete like children to be a parent’s favorite. We compete to prove who God loves the most.  I thank God that He reaches out to every single one of us just as we are. He isn’t as superficial as we are. He isn’t stuck in this epoch, or whatever cultural norms we live with. I think He is magnificent and unlimited. I don’t think He gets hung up on small things the same way we do; for example people’s plumbing.  If He wanted masses of carbon copies, I don’t think he would have needed the blueprints from us.

Maybe one day we will stop putting Him in a box.

I’m thankful He hasn’t put me in one.

Keep trying. Don’t stop. Look for the beauty in life. Shake it off. Get up. Try again. Smile. Breath.

Everyone’s path is different. Different isn’t bad.  God sees the inside. He sees our true intentions and dreams. He gives us the desires of our hearts.

Don’t try and please people.  God is more forgiving anyway. There are some people that nothing will ever be good enough. Just smile and release it. Get up. Try again. God will help.

He won’t throw you away like yesterday’s trash.

He is faithful, faithful in a way we don’t even understand. He loves us. 

 

Hebrews 12:2

Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

 

Leave a Reply

